The Victorian Institute of Earth and Planetary Sciences (VIEPS) is a co-operative educational and research institution based in Melbourne, Australia.


The co-operation, collaboration and academic expertise within VIEPS is the product of a strong commitment by the participating universities to improve education and relevant research. The core departments of VIEPS are Schools and Departments at The University of Melbourne, Monash University, La Trobe University, The University of Tasmania and Federation University.
Current areas of shared teaching and research include geology, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, geomorphology, hydrogeology, climatology, oceanography and meteorology.

14 November 2023: The VIEPS web site is now updated and ready for enrolments for classes in 2024. Please report any errors or inconsistencies to